Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Services for Alumni

Getting Started

Services for Alumni

Membership of the IESE Alumni Association includes several services from the library that will help you stay on top of developments in your sector and field, prepare for interviews etc.

Databases Access

Databases Access

Remote access to a premium database package is available to IESE Alumni.

IESE Library Catalog 
Catalog of printed and electronic materials housed in the IESE Library. Access to your user information to view loans, renew books etc.
IESE Insight Knowledge Portal 
 IESE Business Knowledge Portal. Books, articles, papers, studies, reports, cases, technical notes.

Business Source Alumni Edition
 Journal and magazine articles. Also company and country profiles, and market and industry information.
• Sage Journals Online
Online articles from journals published by Sage in all subjects.
• Science Direct 
Online articles from journals and books published by Elsevier in all subjects.

eLibro.net 
Electronic books from E-Libro CÁTEDRA España, a multidisciplinary platform that includes more than 100,000 Spanish electronic books from top academic publishers.

Login to IESE Library Licensed Resources: Use your Alumni username and password.

These databases can only be used by the members of the IESE Community for non-commercial, educational, scholarly or research purpose. Users are individually responsible for compliance with these terms.

Business Information Service

Business Information Service

The Business Information Service is a free information search service provided by experienced, professional library staff for Members of the Alumni Association and IESE Supporting Companies for career development, as well as IESE Professors and Staff.

We can search for national and international business information (company data, sector news, product information and market reports, statistical series and economic data, political, social and technological background information and press and journal articles) on your behalf using the extensive resources of the IESE Library and Documentation Center.

Recent research:

• The latest accounts for a series of European companies
• Current GDP for the OECD countries in international dollars
• Journal articles about big data
• Size of the smartphones market worldwide
• Country profile of China

How to use the service:

E-mail: library@iese.edu  

Telephone: +34 93 253 6563

Copyright and Licensing Restrictions: The information provided can only be used by the members of the IESE Community for non-commercial, educational, scholarly or research purpose. Users are individually responsible for compliance with these terms.

Borrowing

What is Available to Borrow?

What is Available to Borrow

Most of our 45,500+ books can be borrowed, with the exception of certain copies of recommended reading books and reference works. Journals may not be borrowed.
 
The Library catalog lists all of the books in our collection. Search by author, title, subject or keyword.

Borrowing Allowances

Borrowing Allowances

Borrowing allowances for Alumni Members & Supporting Co.:

  • Maximum Loans: 5 books
  • Loan period: 30 days
    (This is the period for standard loans. There are some books with shorter loan periods.)
  • Renewals: 2 times 
    (Maximum renewals online. You should bring the book to the library desk for further renewals.)

Borrowing Transactions

Borrowing Transactions

Library books can be checked out either at the Library Desk (Barcelona and Madrid Libraries) or using the Self Check machine located in the Barcelona Library Hall. Your IESE card is needed.

Special assistance with loans (overdues, holds, etc.) is only available when Library staff are present.

A security alarm sounds if a user takes unchecked Library materials out of the Library, as a reminder that documents have not been properly checked out. Users are responsible for all materials checked out under their name.

Books must be returned by the date stamped on the Library bookmark or on the receipt if you issued the book yourself.

You can return books either at the Library Desk or using the Self Check machine.

After returning a book using the Self Check service, please place it in the Book Drop next to the machine. Also, when the library is closed, you can deposit books by leaving them in the Book Drop outside the Library’s main door.

You can view your borrower record and renew your books online at Renew my materials. You will need to use your IESE username and password.

You can also renew books or access your library account using the Self Check machine. See our Self Check Machine Video Tutorial.

 

Notice to Return Books

We will contact you five days before the loan expires to remind you to return or renew the book.

Once the expiry date has passed, it is not possible to renew the loan, nor is it possible to take out new loans until the book has been returned.

Reserving Books that are On Loan

Reserving Books that are On Loan

You can “place a hold” on a book that is currently on loan using the library online catalog:

1. Find the item in the library online catalog.

2. Click “Place Hold” while viewing the item information.

3. Enter your IESE username and password. (See also How-to).

4. Choose where to pick up the item (Barcelona or Madrid).

5. Click the “Place Hold” button to send your request. The HOLDS screen appears. Click OK.


We will contact you by email when the book is ready to collect.

Lost Books

Lost Books

Lost books should be either replaced or paid for. You will not be able to borrow more books until you have made these arrangements.

Interlibrary Services

Interlibrary Services

Books, articles and other publications not stocked by the IESE Library can be obtained for you from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery services.

There may be a charge: please check first with Library. 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

This service is for obtaining whole books or other whole publications (theses, reports etc.). Publications must be consulted in the library reading room (only when Service Desk is open).

It can take up to 15 days to process your request. IESE Library retains the book for approximately one month (depends on supplier).

Document Delivery

Document Delivery

Individual articles or book chapters can be obtained via the Document Delivery service as photocopies or pdfs. They are yours to keep.

The speed and cost of this service depends on the delivery method you choose and the supplying library’s charges. Please contact the Library for a quote.

We cannot guarantee delivery times and payment must always be made on receipt of the article.

Place a Request

Place a Request

Check the library online catalog to make sure that we do not stock the item.   

Interlibrary loan or Document delivery request 

Research Alerts

Create Your Own Research Alerts

Create Your Own Research Alerts

Creating electronic alerts is an easy way to keep up to date with the latest research in your field.

Two kinds of alert are usually possible:

  • Journal alerts:
    Tables of contents are delivered to you by e-mail as new issues are published.
  • Search alerts:
    An e-mail alert is sent when new articles matching your search criteria are published. This may include articles by a particular author, or articles matching your keywords.

E-Resources providing alerts:

Business Source Alumni Edition
ScienceDirect
Sage Journals Online

Note: you will need to register with these services to set up alerts. Look for “My Profile”, “My Account”, “Register” etc. Contact the Library if you need assistance.

Library Alerts Service

Library Alerts Service

This service lets you choose your journals of interest from a list supplied by the library.  We will email you the tables of contents as soon as they are received.  We can also supply the full text of articles that interest you, on request.

Contact the library for a journals list.