LibGuides: Research Impact: Getting Started

Getting Started

Top Databases for Research

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Mendeley Reference Manager This link opens in a new window

Publish Strategically

• Choose the right journal

Journal Citation Reports – WoS

Institutional Sign In: "Sign in with your institution’s group or regional affiliation" > "Federation of Spain by FECYT". Please log out after use!
For “Journal Citation Reports”, select it from the menu bar "Products" on the top right of the homepage.
JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal level, and shows the relationships between citing and cited journals:
- Impact Factor
- Immediacy Index
- Eigenfactor Metrics
- Quartile Score

SCOPUS Journal Metrics
Elsevier provides CiteScore metrics from Scopus – comprehensive, current and free metrics for serial titles in Scopus.
FT Journal List
This list details the 50 journals used by the Financial Times in compiling the Business School research rank, included in both the Global MBA and EMBA ranking
ABS Academic Journal Quality Guide 2018
A comprehensive guide to the range, subject matter and relative quality of journals in which business and management academics publish their research.
Journal Quality List
Compiled by Prof. Anne-Wil Harzing, this is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. The list comprises academic journals in Economics, Finance, Accounting, Management, and Marketing
CARHUS Plus+
CARHUS Plus+ is a system for the classification of scientific journals in the areas of Social Sciences and Humanities published on a local, national and international level.

• Standardization of Author’s names

ORCID
Open Researcher ID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher by creating one single register.
ResearcherID - WoS
Web of Science’s ResearcherID assigns each member a unique identifier to enable them to manage their publication lists, track their times cited counts and h-index, identify potential collaborators and avoid author misidentification.
Scopus Author ID
The Scopus author identifier distinguishes you from other authors by assigning you a unique number and then grouping all your documents together.
My Citations Google Scholar
Google Scholar Citations provides a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. Remember to sign up for a Google Scholar Citations profile!

• Publishing your research

Elsevier Guide to publication
Information including guides and/or workshops to help authors to get work published in Elsevier scholarly journals.
Emerald’s Insider Guide to Getting Published
Information including guides and/or workshops to help authors to get work published in Emerald scholarly journals.
SAGE: Journal Author Gateway
Information on the entire publishing process at SAGE.
Sherpa/Romeo
Open Access publishing. Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving.
Dulcinea
Open Access publishing. Copyright policies and conditions of self-archiving in Spanish scientific journals.

Measure Your Research Impact

Google Scholar Citations
This is a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Important! You must sign up first for a Google Scholar Citations profile to track citations of your articles.
Scopus – Citation Tools
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Scopus retrieves and analyzes academic citations.
Web of Science – Citation Tools
Search for journal articles, conference proceedings and citations across a very broad range of subjects relating to science, technology, social sciences and medicine. WoS retrieves and analyzes academic citations.
Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents some metrics.
H-Index
Web of Science uses the H-Index to quantify research output by measuring author productivity and impact. H-Index = number of papers (h) with a citation number = h.
G-Index
The G-index was proposed by Leo Egghe in his paper http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs11192-006-0144-7 “Theory and Practice of the G-Index” in 2006 as an improvement on the H-Index.
i10-Index
Created by Google Scholar and used in Google’s My Citations feature. i10-Index = the number of publications with at least 10 citations.

Content Management Tools and Citation Styles

Create your own database of bibliographic references. Import references from web pages, databases, catalogues or other sources, share them with other users, add them to your work and/or create bibliographies.

Mendeley Reference Manager This link opens in a new window

Elsevier’s desktop and web program for managing and sharing research papers, discovering research data and collaborating online. Access available to the IESE Students, Professors and Staff.

Zotero
A free, open-source research tool that helps you collect, organize and analyze research and share it in a variety of ways.
Referencias bibliográficas: cómo citar correctamente
University of Navarra Library Services Citation Guide (in Spanish).
Harvard Business School Citation Guide
Citation conventions for HBS students to use when writing research papers.
UB CRAI Citations and Reference Management
University of Barcelona Library Services Guide contains information and examples of how to cite documents in a bibliography according to different referencing standards.
Bibme Citations Guide
An automatic citation creator that supports MLA, APA, and Chicago formatting.

Networking

Academia.edu
Platform for academics to share research papers. The company’s primary mission is to accelerate global research.
Methodspace
Home of the research methods community. SAGE provides a space for collaboration and discussion as well as information about jobs, funding and awards.
ResearchGate
Free professional networking platform designed to connect researchers and make it easy for them to share and access scientific output, knowledge, and expertise.

Research Funding

EC Research & Innovation Funding
Find information on the different types of EU funding available for research and innovation.
Spain. MICINN Ayudas a la Investigación
Ministerio de Ciencia, Innovación y Universidades
University of Navarra- Researcher Services – All the Calls
Funding Opportunities Announcements
Catalan Agency for Management of University and Research Grants
Generalitat de Catalunya