Discovery – ESG. Books, articles and more.
IESE Insight – ESG publications by IESE professors and researchers.
World Economic Forum. Strategic Intelligence – ESG
• News
Comprehensive global news and business information database.
Use Factiva Expert Search functionality to limit results to “ESG/ Investment Stewardship” news. Select the criteria you want to limit on the left-hand facets menu and click Search.
Sources where you can find data on:
• Environmental
How well a company upholds regulations that protect the environment.
(For desktop application or web access please email library@iese.edu )
For Environmental company data:
1. Search for a company using the search box on the top left-hand corner of the page.
2. Once on the company profile page, click on the “ESG” tab in the top menu> “ESG statement” tab.
3. On the left-hand filters column, limit by “Environmental” pillar.
For downloading large datasets:
LSEG provides in-depth coverage of environmental-related data dating back to FY 2002.
Type ESG on the search box and retrieve a list of ESG search Apps.
For Environmental company data:
1. Type on the search box Ticker Equity FA ESGE and then GO (e.g. AAPL FA ESGE).
2. Select the sub-tabs to see additional ESG metrics.
The Bloomberg terminal can only be accessed at the Barcelona Library. See our FAQ: Bloomberg Terminal Access
• Social
How a company treats its own employees, customers, vendors, and the communities it is based in.
(For desktop application or web access please email library@iese.edu)
For Social company data:
1. Search for a company using the search box on the top left-hand corner of the page.
2. Once on the company profile page, click on the “ESG” tab in the top menu> “ESG statement” tab.
3. On the left-hand filters column, limit by “Social” pillar.
For downloading large datasets:
LSEG provides in-depth coverage of social-related data dating back to FY 2002.
Type ESG on the search box and retrieve a list of ESG search Apps.
For Social company data:
1. Type on the search box “Ticker Equity FA ESGE” and then click on <GO> (e.g. AAPL FA ESGE).
2. Select the sub-tabs to see additional ESG metrics.
The Bloomberg terminal can only be accessed at the Barcelona Library. See our FAQ: Bloomberg Terminal Access
• Governance
This area covers issues such as companies’ tax audits, shareholders rights and top-level executive compensation, as well as the controls placed on these internal policies.
Access via WRDS and extract large datasets. First time users should register.
(For desktop application or web access please email library@iese.edu)
For company governance data:
1. Search for a company using the search box on the top left-hand corner of the page.
2. Once on the company profile page, click on the “ESG” tab in the top menu> “ESG statement” tab.
3. On the left-hand filters column, limit by “Governance” pillar.
For compensation data:
Once on the company profile page, select “ESG” tab and then “Offices”. This will bring up detailed information on remuneration.
Search for the company, on the left-hand menu under People and select Compensation.
In the People screener there is a Gender flag.
• ESG Indexes
(For desktop application or web access please email library@iese.edu)
Type ESGI on the search box to retrieve data on ESG Indexes.
Type BESG on the search box and then click on <GO>.
The Bloomberg terminal can only be accessed at the Barcelona Library. See our FAQ: Bloomberg Terminal Access
• ESG Sovereign Data
World Bank Sovereign Data Portal
• ESG Data vendors
Environmental Finance ESG Data Guide 2023
Useful starting point for identifying ESG data vendors. Fee and free data.
• See also:
Library FAQ: ESG data-LSEG Workspace (formerly Refinitiv Workspace)
Library FAQ: ESG data-Datastream
Search on the company websites for CSR Reports.
Corporate Register
Global online directory of corporate responsibility (CR) reports past and present.
Register required for access (free).
EU Sustainable Finance Disclosure Regulation (SFDR)
Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
Find Market Guides for ESG Management and Reporting Software.
• See also Guide: Sustainable Business
